Blog Posts BPMN Service Oriented Architecture (SOA)

The Open Group Releases TOGAF® Standard, 10th Edition

Blog: Good eLearning

The Open Group has officially released TOGAF® 10th Edition, the latest version of the world-class TOGAF framework. With TOGAF 9.2 having been released just over four years ago, this marks a significant new point for the world’s most popular enterprise architecture framework.

Steve Nunn, CEO and President of The Open Group, said: “The Open Group shares a collective vision of Boundaryless Information Flow, and the release of the TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition is a powerful expression of that vision.”

TOGAF has long set a global standard in EA, boasting more practitioners than most competitor frameworks combined. This new release represents a major step forward in marrying TOGAF with numerous recent developments in business, technology, and general EA practices.

For example, ‘Security Architecture’, while not an official part of the ADM, is now given the same level of importance as other architectural layers. Various elements of the Digital Age also have their own layers, reflecting their increasing importance for businesses and EA specialists.

TOGAF 10 also offers a high level of future-proofing, with Mr. Nunn continuing that “the next decade of technology and business pressures will require organizations to be more agile, resilient, and adaptable than ever, and that will make a clear approach to architecture more important than ever.”

The framework itself was developed by The Open Group Architecture Forum, a collection of TOGAF practitioners and thought leaders who regularly discuss and publish on developments within the sphere.

Mr. Nunn continued: “The fact that the TOGAF Standard is a living body of knowledge is one of its great advantages. We have now arrived at a point where business strategy and digital solutions are inseparable, and organizations of every size, in every sector, face the need to establish Agile ways of working that continually evolve and adapt. The TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition shows how the TOGAF ecosystem is itself adapting to this reality, growing with businesses to deliver significant value in times of change.”

Chris Forde, VP of Enterprise Architecture at The Open Group, stated: “The TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition shows you where to find enduring and universal concepts. It highlights where to find stable, proven best practices. It underscores where to look for new emerging ideas. Bringing together universal concepts, best practice guidance, and emerging ideas is how you adapt the TOGAF Standard for your configured Enterprise Architecture practice.”

What’s Changed With TOGAF 10?

According to The Open Group, one of the main points of focus was easing the adoption of TOGAF, not only in terms of its existing best practices but also in relation to new and emerging areas. 

Announcing the new framework, The Open Group stated: ” The modular structure provides Enterprise Architects with greater guidance, and simpler navigation, for applying the TOGAF framework alongside its comprehensive fundamental knowledge base. By framing the knowledge base and the topic-specific guidance as separate, formal parts of the TOGAF Standard, the new release will also make it possible to release additional material more frequently while maintaining continuity and stability in its fundamental content.”

The framework also offers expanded guidance and how-to material, with much of it focused on the unique conditions and considerations of use cases such as digital transformation projects or Agile enterprise architecture. Indeed the TOGAF Series Guides that were previously treated as separate are now part of the official Standard.

What is TOGAF Fundamental Content?

This describes the building blocks at the heart of TOGAF 10, including its core concepts, techniques, and the all-important Architecture Development Method (ADM).

They include:

What are the TOGAF Series Guides?

The TOGAF Series Guides offer advice on configuring the fundamental content of TOGAF 10. While not all of this content is new, it has been published separately from the main TOGAF documentation, the reason being that it makes understanding and applying the framework in specific areas much easier for practitioners and their organizations.

The guides include:

The TOGAF Library also contains a number of supporting documents, including:

TOGAF 10 also offers more specific guidance and content for particular audiences, such as EA team sponsors, leaders, and team members. 

Can I Get Certified in TOGAF 10?

Currently, there are no official TOGAF 10 certification courses. However, it is possible to sign up for further updates on the release of the framework.

Check out the Good e-Learning website to find out more!

Leave a Comment

Get the BPI Web Feed

Using the HTML code below, you can display this Business Process Incubator page content with the current filter and sorting inside your web site for FREE.

Copy/Paste this code in your website html code:

<iframe src="" frameborder="0" scrolling="auto" width="100%" height="700">

Customizing your BPI Web Feed

You can click on the Get the BPI Web Feed link on any of our page to create the best possible feed for your site. Here are a few tips to customize your BPI Web Feed.

Customizing the Content Filter
On any page, you can add filter criteria using the MORE FILTERS interface:

Customizing the Content Filter

Customizing the Content Sorting
Clicking on the sorting options will also change the way your BPI Web Feed will be ordered on your site:

Get the BPI Web Feed

Some integration examples